Mar 28, 2018

Posted by

Pampanga gov’t gives P10.8 million to 2,377 scholars

City of San Fernando—- Some 2,377 Pampanga Capitol scholars were given yesterday a total amount of P10,815,000 educational assistance under the Expanded Educational Financial Assistance Program (EEFAP).

The EEFAP distribution was led by Governor Lilia “Nanay” Pineda and Vice Governor Dennis “Delta” Pineda at Bren Z. Guiao Convention Center in this city.

Abegail M. Chung, administrative aide VI (EFAP) of the Provincial Library Department said the scholars from the four districts of Pampanga were honor and graduate students who will take their college at the different colleges and universities in Central Luzon and even in Metro Manila.

Chung explained that a total of 463 Valedictorians, Salutatorians, and 1st Honorable Mentions beneficiaries received P10,000 each.

Some 244 second, third Honorable Mentions and 75 Alternative Learning System (ALS) students were given P5,000 each.

An amount of P3,000 was given to each scholar who landed Fourth, Fifth, Sixth, Seventh and Eight Honorable Mention.

She said that graduate students who will take the board examination will also be given an assistance of P15,000 to be used for their review classes.

In her message, the lady governor urged the scholars to study harder, finish their education in order to help their families.

She also stressed that attaining education for our youth in the province is better this time, because the provincial government through the initiative of the Sangguniang Panlalawigan led by Vice Governor Pineda, has allocated a budget worth P80 M which will be diverted for their allowance and transportation and not for the tuition fees because all government colleges and universities are now for free.

Meanwhile, in his message the “Champion of the Youth” Vice Governor Dennis “Delta” Pineda himself, advised the scholars to focus and finish their schooling to achieve a brighter future for their families, also to attain a higher position and to be somebody someday.

Present during the event were Board Members Benny Jocson, Jerome Tubig, Paul Balingit, Atty. June Canlas, Cherry Manalo, and Fritzie David Dizon.